Faber Members get 10% off their first order

Racing Demon

David Hare

Racing Demon by David Hare – the first part of Hare’s famous trilogy, along with Murmuring Judges and The Absence of War – is an exploration of four clergymen in the attempt to make sense of their mission.

Date Published
All orders are sent via Royal Mail and are tracked: choose from standard or premium delivery.

How do you fight without hate?

Racing Demon reveals the struggle of four clergymen to make sense of their mission.

David Hare’s play opened at the National Theatre, London, in 1990 to universal acclaim, and won four awards as Play of the Year. Racing Demon was the first part of David Hare’s trilogy of plays about British institutions; Murmuring Judges and The Absence of War completed the trilogy.


David Hare has written over thirty stage plays and thirty screenplays for film and television. The plays include Plenty, Pravda (with Howard Brenton), The Secret Rapture, Racing Demon, Skylight, Amy’s View, The Blue Room, Via Dolorosa, Stuff Happens, The Absence of War, The Judas Kiss, The Red Barn, The Moderate Soprano, I’m Not Running and Beat the Devil. For cinema, he has written The Hours, The Reader, Damage, Denial, Wetherby and The White Crow among others, while his television…

Read More
More books by David Hare