Introducing the blockbuster new romance novel from Akwaeke Emezi, author of Freshwater and The Death of Vivek Oji.

It’s the opportunity of a lifetime: Feyi is about to be given the chance to escape the City’s blistering heat for a dream island holiday: poolside cocktails, beach sunsets, and elaborate meals. And as the sun goes down on her old life our heroine also might just be ready to open her heart to someone new.

The only problem is, she’s falling for the one man she absolutely can’t have.


‘To all the romance/contemporary fiction aficionados, this novel is for you – as layered as it is messy whilst giving you ALL the summer vibes.’

The Candid Book Club

‘My heart soared and shook and panted. A rich, complex, beautiful love story, exquisitely told.’

Bolu Babalola


proof &
prize draw

To celebrate Valentine's Day, this February we are offering readers based in the UK the opportunity to request a proof copy of You Made a Fool of Death with Your Beauty. If you request a proof you'll also be entered into our prize draw for a £250 gift card for The Ivy (various UK locations).

Here's what you have to do:

  • Email us at
  • Use the subject line: Valentine's competition
  • Send us your name and address and if you're a bookseller please also tell us the name of your bookshop
  • Competition entries close at 11.59 p.m. on the 18 February 2022
  • Competition is open to UK residents only
  • Proof copies are limited and will be offered on a first come, first served basis
  • Read the full competition terms & conditions
About the Author

AKWAEKE EMEZI (they/them) is the author of the New York Times bestseller The Death of Vivek Oji, which was longlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize; Pet, a finalist for the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature; and Freshwater, which was named a New York Times Notable Book, longlisted for both the Wellcome Book Prize and the Women’s Prize for Fiction and shortlisted for the PEN/Hemingway Award, the New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award, the Lambda Literary Award, and the Center for Fiction’s First Novel Prize.

Read More
About the Author