The Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize

As a memorial to the founder and first Chairman of the firm, Faber & Faber established in 1963 the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize. The Prize of £l,500 is awarded annually: and it is given, in alternate years, for a volume of verse and for a volume of prose fiction. It is given to that volume of verse or prose fiction first published originally in this country during the two years preceding the year in which the award is given which is, in the opinion of the judges, of the greatest literary merit.

Eligibility & Nomination

To be eligible for the prize, the volume of verse or prose fiction must be by a writer who is:

  • Not more than 40 years old at the date of publication of the book
  • A citizen of the United kingdom and Colonies, of any other Commonwealth state, of the Republic of Ireland or of the Republic of South Africa

Three judges are nominated every year, who are specialists in the areas of prose and poetry. Titles are called in by judges on a case-by-case basis. There is no shortlist. 

Please note - no submissions for the prize are to be made.

Previous Winners 

1964 Christoper Middleton George MacBeth (joint)
1965 Frank Tuohy
1966 Jon Silkin
1967 William McIlvanney & John Noone (joint)
1968 Seamus Heaney
1969 Piers Paul Read
1970 Geoffrey Hill
1971 J G Farrell
1972 Tony Harrison
1973 David Storey
1974 John Fuller
1975 Richard Wright
1976 Douglas Dunn
1977 Carolyn Slaughter
1978 David Harsent & Kit Wright (joint)
1979 Timonthy Mo
1980 Hugo Williams & George Szirtes (joint)
1981 J M Coetzee
1982 Tom Paulin & Paul Muldoon (joint)
1983 Graham Swift
1984 James Fenton
1985 Julian Barnes
1986 David Scott
1987 Guy Vanderhaeghe
1988 Michael Hofmann
1989 David Profumo

1990 Michael Donaghy
1991 Carol Birch
1992 Paul Muldoon
1993 Will Self
1994 John Burnside
1995 Livi Michael
1996 Kathleen Jamie
1997 Emily Perkins
1998 Don Paterson
1999 Gavin Kramer
2000 Kathleen Jamie
2001 Trezza Azzopardi
2002 Greta Stoddart
2003 Justin Hill
2004 Glyn Maxwell
2005 David Mitchell
2006 Alice Oswald
2007 Edward Docx
2008 Nick Laird
2009 David Szalay
2010 Kona Macphee
2011 Belinda McKeon
2012 Jacob Polley
2013 Eimear McBride
2014 Liz Berry & Fiona Benson (joint)