The Faber Shop is temporarily closed. Sign up to Faber Members to be first to know when we're reopening.

Stallo

Stallo

Last 1 in stock
ISBN
9780571296781
Published
04/06/2015
9780571296781
Format
Paperback
Price
£14.99
Paperback
608

About the Book

What if something is out there?

A haunting supernatural thriller for fans of Let the Right One In, The Passage and Salem's Lot.

In the summer of 1978 a young boy disappears without trace from a summer cabin in the woods. His mother claims that he was abducted by a giant. The boy is never found.

The previous year, over in a Swedish National Park, a wildlife photographer takes a strange picture from his small airplane, of a bear running over the marshes. On its back sits a creature, which the photographer claims is something extraordinary.

Twenty-five years later, and back in Laponia, Susso runs a much-maligned web page, one dedicated to searching for creatures whose existence have not yet been proven: the Yeti, the Loch Ness Monster, Big Foot. But Susso has her own obsession, one inherited from her grandfather, the well-known wildlife photographer.

When an old woman claims that a small creature has been standing outside her house, observing her and her five year old grandson for hours, Susso picks up her camera and leaves for what will become a terrifying adventure into the unknown ...

'I was enthralled form the very first page ... the words seems to sparkle on the page.' Karl Ove Knausgaard

What if something is out there? A haunting supernatural thriller for fans of Let the Right One In, The Passage and Salem's Lot. In the summer of 1978 a young boy disappears without trace from a summer cabin in the woods. His mother claims that he was abducted by a giant. The boy is never found. The previous year, over in a Swedish National Park, a wildlife photographer takes a strange picture from his small airplane, of a bear running over the marshes. On its back sits a creature, which the photographer claims is something extraordinary. Twenty-five years later, and back in Laponia, Susso runs a much-maligned web page, one dedicated to searching for creatures whose existence have not yet been proven: the Yeti, the Loch Ness Monster, Big Foot. But Susso has her own obsession, one inherited from her grandfather, the well-known wildlife photographer. When an old woman claims that a small creature has been standing outside her house, observing her and her five year old grandson for hours, Susso picks up her camera and leaves for what will become a terrifying adventure into the unknown ... 'I was enthralled form the very first page ... the words seems to sparkle on the page.' Karl Ove Knausgaard
  • Stefan Spjut

    Stefan Spjut (b. 1973) has worked as a literary critic and culture editor. His debut novel Fiskarens garn (Fisherman's Yarn) was published in 2008. He lives in Stockholm and has two children, a girl and a boy. He holds a black belt in taekwondo and considers himself a reprobate MMA-junkie.

“Dark and thrilling ... Like Stephen King, Spjut ... has an ability to make you believe in the unbelievable. Yet Spjut is a simpler, elegant writer - he not only captures the everyday world but effortlessly interweaves his fantastic creatures into the story without startling you out of the fiction. He's scary too, very scary. Never mind Scandi crime ficction, the time has come for Scandi horror.”
- Metro
“'Stallo, the Lapland folklore word for troll, is slow burn, restrained Scandi-horror, in the tradition of John Ajvide Lindqvist's Let The Right One In. As ever, it's the humans that are the most terrifying.'”
- Sydney Morning Herald

Books by this Author

Crime Stallo

Stallo

Stefan Spjut

Crime Trolls

Trolls

Stefan Spjut