The Wolf Border by Sarah Hall

Faber & Faber is thrilled to announce the acquisition of Sarah Hall’s new novel, The Wolf Border, scheduled for publication in April 2015. Lee Brackstone has acquired UK and Commonwealth rights from Clare Conville at Conville & Walsh. The novel will also be published in 2015 by Harper Press in the US and huge interest is expected from publishers around the world.

Sarah HallSarah Hall is one of the most significant novelists at work today. She is the recipient of the 2014 E. M. Forster Award, and last year was selected as one of Granta’s ‘Best of Young British Novelists’.

The Wolf Border

Set against a background of political tumult – Scottish independence, land reform, and power struggles – The Wolf Border investigates the fundamental nature of wilderness and wildness, both animal and human. It explores our concepts of ecology and evolution, re-wilding projects and the challenges faced by modern rural landscapes. The novel seeks to understand the most obsessive aspects of humanity: sex, love, and conflict; the desire to find answers to the question of our existence; those complex systems that govern the most superior creature on earth.

Lee Brackstone, Creative Director, Faber Social:

Sarah Hall is rightly thought to be one of the most original literary talents of her generation and each new book confirms and builds on the promise of her great early novels. The Wolf Border is a novel with enormous narrative and contemporary urgency. In some ways it marks a return to the world of her first novel, Haweswater, but here is a writer in full maturity, at the top of her game.

Stephen Page, CEO, Faber & Faber:

This superb, absorbing novel will be a major publication for Faber. Sarah’s short and longer form fiction has won readers and prizes for its distinctive beauty and force, and with The Wolf Border that readership is set to grow dramatically.

Sarah Hall

Sarah Hall was born in Cumbria in 1974. She is the author of Haweswater, which won the 2003 Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best First Novel, a Society of Authors Betty Trask Award, and a Lakeland Book of the Year prize. In 2004 her second novel, The Electric Michelangelo, was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, the Commonwealth Writers Prize (Eurasia region), the Prix Femina Etranger, and was longlisted for the Orange Prize for Fiction. Her third novel, The Carhullan Army, was published in 2007 and won the 2006/07 John Llewellyn Rhys Prize, the James Tiptree Jr. Award, a Lakeland Book of the Year prize, was shortlisted for the Arthur C. Clarke Award for science fiction, and longlisted for the Dublin IMPAC Award. It was listed as one of The Times‘s 100 Best Books of the Decade.

Her fourth novel, How to Paint a Dead Man, was published in 2009 and was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize and won the Portico Prize for Fiction 2010. Her short story collection The Beautiful Indifference was published in 2012 and won the Portico Prize for Fiction 2012 and the Edge Hill Short Story Award. Her short story Mrs Fox won the BBC National Short Story Award 2013.

Sarah Hall is this year’s recipient of the E. M. Forster Award by the American Academy of Arts and Letters. The awards will be presented in New York in May.