Who Is Patient X? The new novel by David Peace

We are delighted to announce the publication of Patient X, the tenth novel by David Peace, which will be published in April 2018.

Inspired and informed by the life and works of Ryūnosuke Akutagawa, it is described by Editorial Director, Angus Cargill, as ‘a stunning novel of tales which showcases everything that is so unique about David Peace and his work. Haunting, inspiring and passionate, Patient X explores the role of the artist, in times which darkly mirror our own.’

Cover for Patient X


Who is Patient X?
Writer, character, artist, madman,
teacher, detective, fabulist, fraud,
son, orphan, husband, adulterer,
father, failure, saint, demon,
heretic, believer?

Ryūnosuke Akutagawa was one of Japan’s great writers – author of the stories ‘Rashōmon’ and ‘In a Bamboo Grove’, most famously – who lived through Japan’s turbulent Taishō period of 1912 to 1926, including the devastating 1923 Earthquake, only to take his own life at the age of just thirty-five in 1927.

Bungei Shunju, who initiated and run the Akutagawa Prize, have acquired Japanese rights from Hamish Macaskill at EAJ, with US rights bought by Sonny Mehta at Knopf. For enquiries about all other translation rights, please contact Faber Rights Director Lizzie Bishop: Lizzie.Bishop@faber.co.uk.

David Peace – named in 2003 as one of Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists – was born and brought up in Yorkshire. He is the author of the Red Riding Quartet (Nineteen Seventy FourNineteen Seventy SevenNineteen Eighty, and Nineteen Eighty Three), GB84, which was awarded the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, The Damned Utd, and Red or Dead, which was shortlisted for the Goldsmiths Prize. The final part of his Tokyo Trilogy – to follow Tokyo Year Zero and Occupied City – will publish in Summer 2019. Patient X is his tenth novel. He lives in Tokyo.