Faber at 90: A Celebration of Poetry

Faber at 90: A Celebration of Poetry

5th April 2019

We are delighted to invite you to join us for a jubilant evening of poetry, where prizewinning poet Daljit Nagra will read from his work and introduce Rachael Allen and Joe Dunthorne, two Faber poets producing some of the most transporting and innovative writing of today, both with debut collections published in 2019. This event is a collaboration between the National Portrait Gallery and Faber Members for Faber & Faber’s 90th anniversary year.

Daljit Nagra
Daljit Nagra has published four poetry collections with Faber & Faber. He has won the Forward Prize for Best Individual Poem and Best First Book, the South Bank Show Decibel Award and the Cholmondeley Award. His books have been nominated for the Costa Prize and twice for the T. S. Eliot Prize, and he has been selected as a New Generation Poet by the Poetry Book Society. He is the inaugural Poet-in-Residence for Radio 4 and presents a weekly programme Poetry Extra on Radio 4 Extra. His poems have been published in The New Yorker, Poetry Chicago, the LRB, the TLS and the New Statesman. He has written for The Guardian, the Financial Times. He teaches at Brunel University, London.

Rachael Allen
Rachael Allen’s first collection, Kingdomland, will be published by Faber in 2019. She was born in Cornwall and studied at Goldsmiths College. Nights of Poor Sleep, a collaboration with the painter Marie Jacotey, was published as a co-authored artists’ book in 2017 by Test Centre. She is Poetry Editor at Granta, and co-founder of the poetry press clinic and online journal tender. She has received a Northern Writers’ Award and an Eric Gregory Award, and is currently studying for a PhD in poetry.

Joe Dunthorne
Joe Dunthorne was born and brought up in Swansea. His debut novel, Submarine, was translated into sixteen languages and adapted for film by Richard Ayoade. His second, Wild Abandon, won the 2012 Encore Award. His latest is The Adulterants. A collection of his poems, O Positive, will be published by Faber & Faber in April 2019.

Tickets: £10 / £8