Christmas Gift Guide 2019

With Christmas around the corner, we’re here to bring you our selection of the best books to give to your loved ones. Whether you’re looking for a striking new novel, a thriller you can’t put down or the perfect stocking filler, there is a book for everyone in this year’s gift guide.

 

PAPERBACK PICKS

 

With award-winning novels such as Golden Child, Normal People and For The Good Times, our paperback picks are a great choice for fiction lovers. Our selection also includes John Lanchester’s dystopian novel The Wall, Adèle by Leïla Slimani and Barbara Kingsolver’s latest novel, Unsheltered.

 

FICTION FAVOURITES

 

Our hardback fiction picks include Edna O’Brien’s new novel Girl and André Aciman’s Find Me, both Sunday Times bestsellers. Max Porter brings us Lanny, a magical story about a curious boy living in an English village, Louise Doughty is back with her thriller Platform Seven and debut novelist Claire McGlasson introduces us to the strange world of The Panacea Society in The Rapture.

 

BEST OF COMEDY

 

Take your pick from our selection of books by British comedians. Entertain yourself with Richard Ayoade’s Ayoade On Top, Dishonesty is the Second-Best Policy from David Mitchell and Stewart Lee’s March of the Lemmings. Lenny Henry writes about his youth for the first time in his new memoir, Who am I, again? and Sara Pascoe turns her attention to the three things that really matter to humans in her bestselling book Sex Power Money.

 

SELECTED POETRY

 

For poetry lovers, why not try Sandettie Light Vessel Automatic from Poet Laureate Simon Armitage or Ilya Kaminsky’s astonishing parable in poems, Deaf Republic. Discover Zaffar Kunial’s pamphlet of cricket poems Six and the best of Charlotte Mew’s writing gathered by Julia Copus in Selected Poetry and Prose.

 

NOTABLE NON-FICTION

 

For those looking for some brilliant non-fiction, we recommend Graham Farmelo’s The Universe Speaks in Numbers, Amelia Gentleman’s The Windrush Betrayal and I Am Dynamite! by Sue Prideaux. Jay Rayner attempts to construct his perfect meal in My Last Supper, and Nathan Filer sheds light on schizophrenia in The Heartland.

 

FOR THE LITTLE ONES

 

Get festive with new Faber Children’s titles The Great Reindeer Disaster and Santa’s New Beardor rediscover some Faber classics with reissues of The Iron Man and Old Possum’s Book of Practical CATS. Emma Carroll returns with a gripping tale in The Somerset Tsunami, and award-winning author Akwaeke Emezi brings us her first YA novel, Pet.

 

MUSICAL MIX

 

Music fans will enjoy Jon Savage’s oral history on Joy Division in This searing light, the sun and everything else and I’ll Be Your Mirror, a comprehensive volume of Lou Reed’s lyrics with brand new introductions. There’s also acclaimed choreographer Mark Morris’ memoir, Out Loud.

 

CRIME & THRILLER SELECTION

 

Curl up this Christmas with a good page-turner, such as Bev Thomas’ gripping thriller A Good Enough Mother and Michelle McNamara’s true crime novel I’ll Be Gone in the DarkPeter Swanson’s Before She Knew Him and Laura Lippman’s Lady in the Lake would also make a great gift for readers of crime and thriller fiction.

 

90TH ANNIVERSARY POETRY EDITIONS

 

Poetry fans will also love our special editions of ten iconic Faber poetry collections from over the last ninety years. There’s ten titles to choose from, from Sylvia Plath’s Ariel to T.S. Eliot’s The Waste Land.

 

STOCKING FILLERS

 

Our Faber Stories make the perfect stocking filler. There are thirty short stories to choose from across a wide range of our authors, including Anna Burns’ Mostly Hero, Sarah Hall’s Mrs Fox and Kazuo Ishiguro’s Come Rain or Come Shine.

 

SPECIAL GIFTS

 

Fans of Anna Burns and Sylvia Plath would love our Liberty Editions of Milkman and The Bell Jar, or celebrate the remarkable Faber poetry list by gifting our Faber & Faber Poetry Diary 2020.

 

CHRISTMAS GIFT BOX

 

If you’re a Faber Member, check out our special Faber Members Christmas Gift Box, which includes a tote bag featuring a quotation from ‘The Rival’ by Sylvia Plath, the stunning poetry pamphlet, A Year in Poetry 2019, and Barbara Kingsolver’s arresting short story Homeland.

 

You can buy all titles listed in the gift guide directly from our Faber ShopWe offer free delivery on orders over £30.

Related