Richard King

RICHARD KING is the author of Original Rockers (shortlisted for the Gordon Burn Prize and a Rough Trade, The Times and Uncut Book of the Year), How Soon Is Now? (the Sunday Times Music Book of the Year), The Lark Ascending (a Rough Trade, Mojo and Evening Standard Book of the Year, shortlisted for the Penderyn Prize) and the forthcoming Brittle With Relics (2022). He was born into a bilingual family in South Wales and for the last twenty years has lived in the rural county of Powys, Mid Wales.

From the Journal
card image
Faber Radio presents Richard King

Richard King introduces his Tan Corduroy Jacket Sutras.   “This is a two-hour playlist of contemplative music from Brazil, France, Algiers, Belgium, Venezuela, Cameroon and America and none, I realise as I write this, from the UK. It’s been compiled with the idea of enabling the listener to spend time in a sort of universal […]

Listen & Watch
Read More
card image
Faber announces The Lark Ascending by Richard King

Faber is delighted to announce The Lark Ascending by Richard King, the bestselling and critically-acclaimed author of How Soon Is Now? and Original Rockers, for publication on 6 June 2018. Richard King’s new book is a history of the British countryside told through the relationship between music and landscape. Written by one of our most celebrated cultural historians, The Lark Ascending is a […]