The Impossible Fortress

The Impossible Fortress

Last 2 in stock
ISBN
9780571330621
Published
06/04/2017
9780571330621
Format
Paperback
Price
£12.99
Paperback
304

About the Book

It's 1987. Billy Marvin, the tallest boy in ninth grade, has just witnessed history.

Wheel of Fortune presenter Vanna White is on the cover of Playboy.

Billy and his friends, Alf and Clark, know that if they can get hold of the magazine, their world will change. For ever.

But as Billy says, 'No shopkeeper in America was going to sell Playboy to a fourteen-year-old boy.'

As they set out on their mission to find the most wanted images in America, they're blissfully unaware of the dangers, dramas and garbage dumpsters that lie ahead. And of how a girl called Mary might just change one of their lives. For ever.

It's 1987. Billy Marvin, the tallest boy in ninth grade, has just witnessed history.Wheel of Fortune presenter Vanna White is on the cover of Playboy.Billy and his friends, Alf and Clark, know that if they can get hold of the magazine, their world will change. For ever.But as Billy says, 'No shopkeeper in America was going to sell Playboy to a fourteen-year-old boy.'As they set out on their mission to find the most wanted images in America, they're blissfully unaware of the dangers, dramas and garbage dumpsters that lie ahead. And of how a girl called Mary might just change one of their lives. For ever.
“The Impossible Fortress reads like a newly-unearthed Amblin movie - a sweet, funny and moving tribute to nerds and misfits everywhere, set in a magical time when cassettes were king, phones had cords and Playboy was the pinnacle of smut. Fans of Ernie Cline and Chuck Klosterman - this is your next favourite book.”
- Seth Grahame-Smith, author of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies
“A love letter to the 1980s, adolescence, technology, nerd-dom, and Vanna White, The Impossible Fortress will make you laugh and remind you of how much is possible when you're fourteen.”
- David Ebershoff, author of The Danish Girl

Books by this Author

The Impossible Fortress

The Impossible Fortress

Jason Rekulak