The Unbearable Lightness of Being (Faber Members)

Milan Kundera
Faber Members pay only £40.00 for this title. Sign up for free during checkout to get your discount.
Proceed to Checkout
ISBN 9780571326372 Format Hardback
Published 30/06/2015 Length 320 pages

About Book

Faber Members presents an outstanding classic as never before with a brand-new Collectors' Edition of The Unbearable Lightness of Being.

Our launch celebrates the publication of The Festival of Insignificance – Milan Kundera's first novel in over a decade.

This exclusive edition has been printed by the traditional lithographic method on a small, sheetfed, Heidelberg press, using premium woodfree paper. Each book is sewn and bound by hand, using a quarter-bound case of real cloth and printed panels front and back, featuring original artwork by Milan Kundera, with matt black pigment foiling and lamination. The books are finished with full colour printed endpapers, head and tail bands and a ribbon marker.

The Unbearable Lightness of Being is a classic story of irreconcilable loves and infidelities. Juxtaposing Prague, Geneva, Thailand and the United States, it encompasses the extremes of comedy and tragedy, and embraces, it seems, all aspects of human existence. It offers – in true Kundera fashion – a wide range of brilliant and amusing philosophical speculations and it descants on a variety of styles, drawing together the Czechoslovakia of the Prague Spring and the Russian invasion, the philosophy of Nietzsche, and the love affairs of a number of heartbreakingly familiar characters.

  • About Milan Kundera

    Milan Kundera was born in Brno and has lived in France for over forty years. He is the author of the internationally acclaimed and bestselling novels The Joke (1967), Life is Elsewhere (1973), The Farewell Waltz (1976), The Book of Laughter and Forgetting (1978), The Unbearable Lightness of Being (1984), Immortality (1991), and the short-story collection Laughable Loves (1969), which were all originally written in Czech. His play, Jacques and His Master (1984), Slowness (1995), Identity (1998) and Ignorance (2002) were all originally written in French. Milan Kundera has also written extensively about the novel in four collections of essays - The Art of the Novel (1968), Testaments Betrayed (1993), The Curtain (2007) and Encounter (2009).

    More Info

You May Also Like