The Faber Shop is temporarily closed. Sign up to Faber Members to be first to know when we're reopening.

The Long Count

The Long Count

Last 1 in stock
ISBN
9780571323784
Published
05/05/2016
9780571323784
Format
Paperback
Price
£12.99
Paperback
288

About the Book

In The Long Count, the first book of JM Gulvin's masterful new crime series, we meet Ranger John Quarrie as he is called to the scene of an apparent suicide by a fellow war veteran. Although the local police want the case shut down, John Q is convinced that events aren't quite so straightforward.

When his hunch is backed up by the man's son, Isaac - just back from Vietnam, and convinced his father was murdered - they start to look into a series of other violent incidents in the area, including a recent fire at the local Trinity Asylum and the disappearance of Isaac's twin brother, Ishmael. In a desperate race against time, John Q has to try and unravel the dark secrets at the heart of this family and get to the truth before the count is up...

Dripping with atmosphere and a sense of time and place, The Long Count is a page-turner and a psychological puzzle - for fans of Shutter Island and True Detective.

In The Long Count, the first book of JM Gulvin's masterful new crime series, we meet Ranger John Quarrie as he is called to the scene of an apparent suicide by a fellow war veteran. Although the local police want the case shut down, John Q is convinced that events aren't quite so straightforward. When his hunch is backed up by the man's son, Isaac - just back from Vietnam, and convinced his father was murdered - they start to look into a series of other violent incidents in the area, including a recent fire at the local Trinity Asylum and the disappearance of Isaac's twin brother, Ishmael. In a desperate race against time, John Q has to try and unravel the dark secrets at the heart of this family and get to the truth before the count is up...Dripping with atmosphere and a sense of time and place, The Long Count is a page-turner and a psychological puzzle - for fans of Shutter Island and True Detective.
  • JM Gulvin

    Born in the UK, JM Gulvin divides his time between Wales and the western United States. He is the author of many previous novels, as well as Ewan McGregor and Charley Boorman's bestselling travel book Long Way Down. The Long Count is his first John Q mystery and he is currently at work on the follow up. He is married and has two daughters.
“I loved this book: it has such a subtle sense of place, the clear writing pulls you in right from the start, and its ingenious plot line is both shocking and inevitable.”
- ANN CLEEVES
“Atmospheric… The opening chapter…instantly grabs the reader’s attention, and sets the pulse a racing for what is to follow…Highly recommended.”
- Raven Crime Reads

Books by this Author

Crime The Long Count

The Long Count

JM Gulvin

Crime The Contract

The Contract

JM Gulvin

Crime The Contract

The Contract

JM Gulvin