The Flowers of the Forest

Joseph Hone
Faber Members pay only £11.20 for this title. Sign up for free during checkout to get your discount.
Proceed to Checkout
ISBN 9780571316137 Format N/A
Published N/A Length N/A

About Book

The Flowers of the Forest(1980) was the second of Joseph Hone's quartet of 'Peter Marlow' spy novels, all now reissued as Faber Finds.

It is an idyllic setting: the sunlit forest sweeping down to the valley, the heather loud with bees. But one hive stands dismantled and a man has vanished - Lindsay Phillips, section head in the Secret Service. Marlow thinks he has left the world of espionage behind, but unexpected pressures lead him to take up the search for Phillips - whereupon he is caught up in a web of violence and intrigue.

'This is the best thriller I've found in years, perhaps the best I remember... The weaving of the story is so close, so tight, that no image, no hint is ever wasted.' Isabel Quigly, Financial Times

'A pleasure to read.' Times Literary Supplement

  • About Joseph Hone

    Joseph Hone, born 1937, is a novelist, journalist and broadcaster. Faber Finds publishes his four Peter Marlow spy thrillers - The Private Sector, The Sixth Directorate, The Valley of the Fox and The Flowers of the Forest, plus the stand-alone thriller The Paris Trap and the autobiographical Children of the Country.

    Finds' editions of the four Marlow thrillers as well as The Paris Trap each feature a new preface about Hone and his work by the contemporary spy novelist and non-fiction author Jeremy Duns.

    As a writer of spy thrillers, Joseph Hone has been compared favourably with the likes of Eric Ambler, Len Deighton and John le Carre. His most recent book, Wicked Little Joe, is a memoir published by Lilliput Press.

    More Info