The Valley of the Fox

Joseph Hone
Faber Members pay only £10.40 for this title. Sign up for free during checkout to get your discount.
Proceed to Checkout
ISBN 9780571316120 Format N/A
Published N/A Length N/A

About Book

The Valley of the Fox (1980) was the final entry in Joseph Hone's quartet of 'Peter Marlow' spy novels, all now reissued as Faber Finds.

Marlow believes he is done with the insane world of espionage, having found a haven in the Cotswolds with his wife and step-daughter. Then gunfire shatters the night and he is forced to run for cover into the nearby woodland. Marlow finds himself in a landscape that has become suddenly, venomously hostile. And when sinister vengeance from Africa reaches deep into rural England, he must turn savage to rescue his terrified step-daughter and make good his escape.

'A beguiling yarn... that harks back to an older romantic tradition with Buchanesque notions of honour and decency.' Sunday Independent

'A carefully thought-out psychological novel . . . the writing is of such strength' Daily Telegraph

  • About Joseph Hone

    Joseph Hone, born 1937, is a novelist, journalist and broadcaster. Faber Finds publishes his four Peter Marlow spy thrillers - The Private Sector, The Sixth Directorate, The Valley of the Fox and The Flowers of the Forest, plus the stand-alone thriller The Paris Trap and the autobiographical Children of the Country.

    Finds' editions of the four Marlow thrillers as well as The Paris Trap each feature a new preface about Hone and his work by the contemporary spy novelist and non-fiction author Jeremy Duns.

    As a writer of spy thrillers, Joseph Hone has been compared favourably with the likes of Eric Ambler, Len Deighton and John le Carre. His most recent book, Wicked Little Joe, is a memoir published by Lilliput Press.

    More Info