The Puzzleheaded Girl

Christina Stead
Faber Members pay only £12.00 for this title. Sign up for free during checkout to get your discount.
Proceed to Checkout
ISBN 9780571271450 Format Paperback
Published 15/07/2010 Length 284 pages

About Book

The puzzleheaded girl of the title novella, Honor Lawrence, is a young New York filing clerk whose motives her mentor, Augustus Debrett, finds impossible to understand. Her obvious poverty is so embarrassing for the New England elite of her acquaintance that they prefer to imagine scandal in its place. Refusing to accept promotion, but asking, all the same, for help, Honor becomes a spectral figure in Debrett's life, leaving puzzlement and disquiet in her wake.
The Puzzleheaded Girl (first published in 1968) is a collection of four novellas: The Puzzleheaded Girl, The Dianas, The Rightangled Creek and Girl from the Beach.

  • About Christina Stead

    Christina Stead (1902-1983) was an Australian-born novelist and short-story writer acclaimed for her satirical wit and penetrating psychological characterisations. She wrote fifteen novels and several volumes of short stories in her lifetime, during which she spent many years living abroad in Europe and the USA, returning to Australia to live only late in life. Considered by many to have been one of Australia's greatest novelists, Stead's best-known and most acclaimed novel, The Man Who Loved Children, is largely based on her own childhood, and was first published in 1940.

    More Info