Dandelion Days

Henry Williamson
Faber Members pay only £11.20 for this title. Sign up for free during checkout to get your discount.
Proceed to Checkout
ISBN 9780571260485 Format Paperback
Published 18/03/2010 Length 312 pages

About Book

Dandelion Days is the second novel in The Flax of Dream tetralogy describing the life of Willie Maddison. This volume continues the story of Willie's boyhood with escapades at school and idyllic adventures in the countryside. The moving, at times almost Arcadian account, of youth before the Great War is shattered at the end when we learn 10943 Private W. B. Maddison has enlisted and is serving in a territorial Infantry Battalion in the Ypres Salient.

'Gets as near to the heart of a boy as anything I have read for many years. Willie Maddison is a person and a representative. His history is beautiful - and important.' The Observer

Faber Finds is reissuing the four titles in The Flax of Dream sequence: The Beautiful Years, Dandelion Days, The Dream of Fair Women and The Pathway.

  • About Henry Williamson

    Henry Williamson (1895-1977) was a prolific writer best known for Tarka the Otter which won the Hawthornden Prize in 1927. He wrote much of else of quality including The Wet Flanders Plain, The Flax of Dream tetralogy and the fifteen volume A Chronicle of Ancient Sunlight all of which are being reissued in Faber Finds.

    His politics were unfortunate, naively and misguidedly right-wing. In truth, he was a Romantic. The critic George Painter famously said of him, 'He stands at the end of the line of Blake, Shelley and Jefferies: he is last classic and the last romantic.'

    More Info