Upon Several Occasions

Elizabeth Berridge
Faber Members pay only £10.40 for this title. Sign up for free during checkout to get your discount.
Proceed to Checkout
ISBN 9780571255894 Format Paperback
Published 03/11/2009 Length 258 pages

About Book

'Bad luck's been on her ever since she was born' and the pitfalls that surround Mady Barnard form the backdrop to this moving story of community.

Birth, marriage, death and a trip to Bristow link the industrious characters of Elizabeth Berridge's subtle and insightful third novel, first published in 1953. Mrs. Barnard's aspirations for her daughter Mady, the grief felt by Mrs. Peters, the rector's wife, over her son's death in Burma and Doris Weldon's frustration with her children tell of day-to-day life in the village. In the background remains the Women's League, a subterfuge where knitting patterns and scone recipes are swapped and where gossip is circulated with passion.

  • About Elizabeth Berridge

    Elizabeth Berridge is the author of numerous novels, including Across the Common and Upon Several Occasions, both serialised by the BBC.

    She has been a journalist, broadcaster, critic and publisher. Married with two grown-up children, she lives in London.

    More Info