One Man's Meat

Colin Watson
Faber Members pay only £9.60 for this title. Sign up for free during checkout to get your discount.
Proceed to Checkout
ISBN 9780571255856 Format Paperback
Published 03/11/2009 Length 192 pages

About Book

For lovely Julia Harton, unhappily married to a brutally successful pet food executive, a dramatic death in the fairground seems to provide a deliciously easy means of escape. But for Inspector Purbright, it is the harbinger of a bizarre and increasingly nasty case. Mysteries abound, including the precise truth behind the initials RIP, the role of Happy Endings Inc, and, not least, the exact contents of certain tins of dog food.

Flaxborough is a quiet market town in the east of England, discreetly prosperous, respectable, brimming with the provincial virtues. But beneath the bland surface, strange passions seethe. The little foibles of its citizens afford more than ample scope to the wisdom and pertinacity of Inspector Purbright.

First published in 1977, One Man's Meat is the ninth novel in the Flaxborough series and displays Watson's characteristic dry wit and striking observation.

'Sharp and stylish and wickedly funny.' Literary Review

'Flaxborough, that olde-worlde town with Dada trimmings.' Sunday Times

  • About Colin Watson

    Colin Watson was born in 1920. He worked as a journalist but was most famous for his twelve 'Flaxborough' novels, set in a small fictional town in England. Four of the 'Flaxborough' novels were adapted for television by the BBC under the series title Murder Most English and Watson's Detective Inspector Purbright remains one of the most intellectual detectives in the crime genre. Colin Watson died in 1983.

    More Info