An End and a Beginning

James Hanley
Faber Members pay only £12.00 for this title. Sign up for free during checkout to get your discount.
Proceed to Checkout
ISBN 9780571251568 Format Paperback
Published 21/05/2009 Length 316 pages

About Book

An End and a Beginning is the final book in James Hanley's five novel sequence, The Furys. All five novels have been reissued in Faber Finds.

Young Peter Fury, confused by his mother's ambition for him, was driven to commit a crime for which he was sent to prison for fifteen years. The story opens with his release, and as Peter gropes his way back to normal life we learn the extraordinary circumstances of his past and observe his coming to terms with the future.

The Furys sequence is one of the great works of twentieth-century literature, but it has had to wait until now to be made available in its entirety.

  • About James Hanley

    Almost all biographies give James Hanley's dates as 1901 to 1985. The date of his death is not in doubt, but as his son, Liam Hanley, has recently established he was born in 1897, and in Liverpool not Dublin as previously thought.

    James Hanley was a novelist and playwright. His output was prodigious: in addition to the five novels in the Furys sequence being reissued by Faber Finds, he wrote about twenty-five novels, sixteen volumes of short stories, six plays and seven books of miscellaneous writings.

    His early life was adventurous. He joined the merchant navy when seventeen (his sea-faring days were formative), jumped ship in Canada, joined the Canadian Army, fought in the First World War, and was gassed before returning to Liverpool in 1918.

    His novel, Boy, achieved notoriety when it was suppressed for obscenity in the 1930s. The unexpurgated edition is now in print with Oneworld Classics.

    More Info