Born Losers

Barbara Skelton
Faber Members pay only £9.60 for this title. Sign up for free during checkout to get your discount.
Proceed to Checkout
ISBN 9780571248315 Format Paperback
Published 22/01/2009 Length 151 pages

About Book

Born Losers, published in 1965, and Barbara Skelton's second book, is a collection of short stories.

'Miss Skelton's twelve stories are sharp and stark and have an almost maniacal lucidity. Her Born Losers are mostly orphans of Manhattan ... Miss Skelton takes one from the purple darkness of Harlem to Mexico City, to the London Zoo and the Cote d'Azur, on a wild schizophrenic slide. She describes the meaningless sex battle with zest and accuracy. Her humour is alarming but never malicious. Here are twelve quite shocking little stories, cute as mad midgets, about Gloomsville. Nutty, as they say, as a fruit cake ... Her book cannot be recommended to the frail and fearful.' John Davenport, Observer

  • About Barbara Skelton

    Barbara Skelton (1916-1996) was a writer and literary femme fatale. She had many lovers and three husbands. She wrote two novels, a volume of short stories and two brilliant autobiographies. Her entire oeuvre is being reissued in Faber Finds.

    In addition to her own fiction, Barbara Skelton was also the original for Pamela Flitton in Anthony Powell's Dance to the Music of Time sequence.

    More Info