The Forward Book of Poetry 2008

Out Of Stock
Faber Members pay only £7.19 for this title. Sign up for free during checkout to get your discount.
Proceed to Checkout
ISBN 9780571239573 Format Paperback
Published 04/10/2007 Length 148 pages

About Book

The Forward Book of Poetry 2008, published on National Poetry Day, collects together the judges' highly commended poems from all the submissions considered for this year's Forward Prizes for Poetry.

Described by the Daily Telegraph as 'a litmus test for what is being currently written in poetry in the British Isles', this varied anthology includes poems by some of the most respected poets of their generation, including: Sean O'Brien, Eavan Boland, John Burnside, Luke Kennard, Jack Mapanje, Adam Thorpe, David Harsent, Lorraine Mariner, Alice Oswald, Jean Sprackland, Carole Satyamurti, Geoffrey Hill, Matthew Sweeney, Ian Duhig, Sasha Dugdale, Tama Yoseloff, Graham Mort, David Morley, Sarah Maguire, Paul Muldoon, Elaine Feinstein, Maurice Riordan, Helen Dunmore, Nick Drake, Fiona Sampson, Nick Laird, Tim Liardet and Jane Hirschfield.

The judges of the Forward Prizes for Poetry 2007, who compiled the anthology, are Michael Symmons-Roberts, award winning poet, novelist and librettist, Radiohead star Colin Greenwood, poet and playwright Glyn Maxwell, poet and performer Jean 'Binta' Breeze and the Guardian Unlimited Books Editor, Sarah Crown. The Forward Prizes for Poetry winner announcement is made on 3rd October 2007, the eve of National Poetry Day.