Tokyo Year Zero

David Peace
Faber Members pay only £13.59 for this title. Sign up for free during checkout to get your discount.
Proceed to Checkout
ISBN 9780571236459 Format Hardback
Published 02/08/2007 Length 368 pages

About Book

August 1946. One year on from surrender and Tokyo lies broken and bleeding at the feet of its American victors. Among the survivors of the Tokyo Metropolitan Police Department, panic is spreading. Facing the threat of a second purge the officers and detectives, with their changed identities and false names, realise that they can trust no one, least of all each other. Meanwhile another war is breaking out, as the different ethnic groups fight for control of the city’s black markets.

Against this extraordinary historical backdrop, Tokyo Year Zero opens with the discovery of the bodies of two young women in Shiba Park. Against his wishes, Detective Minami is assigned to the case, and as he gets drawn ever deeper into these complex and horrific murders, he realises that his own past and secrets are indelibly linked to those of the dead women and their killer.

Startling and brilliant, Tokyo Year Zero is a bravura performance from the Granta Best of Young British Novelist, David Peace. The first part of his 'Tokyo Trilogy', it sees him once again blend fact and fiction as he explores a shattered national psyche forced to face up to its very worst fears.

  • About David Peace

    David Peace - named in 2003 as one of Granta's Best of Young British Novelists - was born and brought up in Yorkshire. He is the author of the Red Riding Quartet (Nineteen Seventy Four, Nineteen Seventy Seven, Nineteen Eighty and Nineteen Eighty Three) which has been adapted into a three part Channel 4 series that aired in Spring 2009, GB84 which was awarded the James Tait Black Memorial Award, and The Damned Utd, the film version of which (adapted by Peter Morgan and starring Michael Sheen) was released in Spring 2009. Tokyo Year Zero, the first part of his acclaimed Tokyo Trilogy, was published in 2007, and the second part, Occupied City, in 2009.

    More Info