D. H. Lawrence

Tom Paulin
Faber Members pay only £6.39 for this title. Sign up for free during checkout to get your discount.
Proceed to Checkout
ISBN 9780571234912 Format Paperback
Published 05/04/2007 Length 176 pages

About Book

David Herbert Lawrence was born in Nottinghamshire in 1885. Predominantly remembered as a novelist, Lawrence began writing poetry when he was nineteen and published his first pieces in 1909 in the English Review. His first book of verse, Love Poems and Others, appeared in 1913. This was followed by Amores (1916), Look! We Have Come Through (1917), New Poems (1918), Bay (1919), Tortoises (1921), Birds, Beasts and Flowers (1923) and Pansies (1929). His Collected Poems appeared in 1928 and Last Poems was published posthumously in 1932. D.H. Lawrence died of tuberculosis in Vence in 1930.

In this series, a contemporary poet selects and introduces a poet of the past. By their choice of poems and by the personal and critical reactions they express in their prefaces, the editors offer insights into their own work as well as providing an accessible and passionate introduction to some of the greatest poets of our literature.

  • About Tom Paulin

    Tom Paulin was born in Leeds in 1949 but grew up in Belfast, and was educated at the universities of Hull and Oxford. He has published nine collections of poetry as well as a Selected Poems 1972-1990, two major anthologies, two versions of Greek drama, and several critical works, including The Day-Star of Liberty: William Hazlitt's Radical Style and, most recently, Crusoe's Secret: The Aesthetics of Dissent. His most recent collection of poems is Love's Bonfire (2012). Well known for his appearances on the BBC's Newsnight Review, he is also the G. M. Young Lecturer in English Literature at Hertford College, Oxford.

    More Info