Sergey Prokofiev: Diaries 1915-1923

Sergei Prokofiev
Faber Members pay only £24.00 for this title. Sign up for free during checkout to get your discount.
Proceed to Checkout
ISBN 9780571226306 Format Hardback
Published 03/04/2008 Length 784 pages

About Book

The second volume of Sergey Prokofiev's recently uncovered Diaries covers the years 1915 to 1922. It describes in detail the genesis and the problematic path to performance of major works in his canon, and the life-changing experiences of living in war-torn and revolutionary Russia, and deciding to leave for the mythic America he had long dreamed of visiting. The Diaries chart the author's swings of fortune, the loneliness of the émigré, his encounters with a luminous range of personalities from music, theatre, art and literature, and the search for love and friendship, all cast in the burnished prose of a born master, not just of music, but of words.
  • About Sergei Prokofiev

    Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953) returned to his native Russia in 1933, having established himself as one of the leading 20th century composer-pianists. His works include the ballet Romeo and Juliet and the music for Eisenstein's film Alexander Nevsky, and he remains one of the most performed and popular composers world-wide.

    More Info
  • Edited By: Anthony Phillips

    Anthony Phillips learnt Russian in the 'Secret Classrooms' of National Service in the 1950s and later at Oxford. The language continued to play an important part during his later career in music administration, during which he became general manager of London's Royal Festival Hall. Story of a Friendship, his translation of Shostakovich's letters to Isaak Glikman, was published by Faber in 2000, and Anton Chekhov: A Life in Letters (with Rosamund Bartlett) by Penguin Classics in 2004.

    More Info