Zinnie Harris
Faber Members pay only £7.99 for this title. Sign up for free during checkout to get your discount.
Proceed to Checkout
ISBN 9780571226269 Format Paperback
Published 07/10/2004 Length 96 pages

About Book

A pedlar announces that the war is over; and as the soldiers return in the fragile peace that follows, the starving people are left to build new lives, to forge new identities. Written in a spare and lyrical language, Midwinter is a play about now, about love, self and a world made from conflict.

Midwinter premiered as part of the RSC New Work Festival at the Swan Theatre, Stratford-upon-Avon, in October 2004. It is the second in a trilogy of plays which begins with Solstice and culiminates in Fall.

  • About Zinnie Harris

    Zinnie Harris's plays include the multi-award-winning Further than the Furthest Thing, produced by the National Theatre/Tron Theatre in 2000 (1999 Peggy Ramsay Playwriting Award, 2001 John Whiting Award, Edinburgh Festival Fringe First award); Nightingale and Chase (Royal Court Theatre, 2001); By Many Wounds (Hampstead Theatre, 1999); and Silver Whale Fish and Master of the House (BBC Radio Four). Solstice, the first in a trilogy of plays, was staged in 2005 by the RSC, who had already presented Midwinter in 2004; the last, Fall, was staged at the Traverse, Edinburgh, in 2008. The Wheel was staged at the Traverse Theatre by the National Theatre of Scotland and was joint winner of the Amnesty International Freedom of Expression Award 2011. Zinnie Harris has received an Arts Foundation Fellowship for playwriting, and was Writer in Residence at the RSC, 2000-2001.

    More Info