Tony Harrison Plays 5

Tony Harrison
Faber Members pay only £13.59 for this title. Sign up for free during checkout to get your discount.
Proceed to Checkout
ISBN 9780571224777 Format Paperback
Published 04/11/2004 Length 256 pages

About Book

This fifth collection of Tony Harrison's masterly poetry for the stage contains introductions by the author to each of the plays.

The Trackers of Oxyrhynchus was voted one of the best 100 plays of the twentieth century by the National Theatre Millennium Poll:

'One of the most brilliantly original things the National has ever done.' Sunday Times

'A wonderfully witty, provocative piece of theatre.' Guardian

'Harrison has created a glorious piece of total theatre.' Time Out

'Square Rounds is clearly a work of genius . . . It's so brilliant you leave the theatre in a kind of exhilarated pessimism.' Boston Globe

'It would be a stony soul who didn't salute Harrison's reckless theatrical audacity . . . A stunningly original piece of theatre.' Guardian

'Let's hand it to Tony Harrison: when it comes to taking theatrical risks, he has no rival.' The Times

Tony Harrison is the recipient of the Northern Rock Foundation Writer's Award 2004.

  • About Tony Harrison

    Tony Harrison was born in Leeds in 1937. His volumes of poetry include The Loiners (winner of the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize), Continuous, v. (broadcast on Channel 4 in 1987, winning the Royal Television Society Award), The Gaze of the Gorgon (winner of the Whitbread Prize for Poetry) and Laureate's Block. Recognised as Britain's leading theatre and film poet, Tony Harrison has written extensively for the National Theatre, the New York Metropolitan Opera, the BBC, Channel 4, the RSC, and for unique ancient spaces in Greece, Austria and Japan. His film Black Daisies for the Bride won the Prix Italia in 1994; this and his volume of film/poems The Shadow of Hiroshima and Other Film/Poems and his feature film Prometheus are published by Faber & Faber. His most recent film/poem was Crossings (LWT), 2002. In 2007 his Collected Film Poetry was published by Faber and his Collected Poems by Penguin. His play, Fram, premiered at the National Theatre in 2008. Tony Harrison was awarded the PEN/Pinter Prize 2009, the European Prize for Literature 2010, the David Cohen Prize for Literature 2015, and the Premio Feronia 2016 in Rome, in special recognition of a foreign author.

    More Info