The Fall of Fergal

Philip Ardagh
Last 7 in stock
Faber Members pay only £4.79 for this title. Sign up for free during checkout to get your discount.
Proceed to Checkout
ISBN 9780571215218 Format Paperback
Published 07/10/2002 Length 144 pages

About Book

From the creator of the best selling 'Eddie Dickens Trilogy', this is Book One of a darkly hilarious second trilogy, charting the extraordinary changes in fortunes of the down-trodden McNally family.

The setting is an unidentified country, suffering from an unexpected outbreak of very large holes. The McNally children find themselves in The Dell hotel surrounded by a strange assortment of ridiculous characters ranging from Charlie 'Twinkle Toes' Tweedy the house detective, to Mr. Peach, a ventriloquist with a conveniently-large moustache. With young Fergal McNally falling to his death on page one, the only way for the McNallys is up. Expect the unexpected with Philip Ardagh pulling out all the stops that make this fiction so unique and so absurd.

  • About Philip Ardagh

    Philip Ardagh, whose very first Grubtown Tale won him the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, is author of over 100 books including the award-winning Eddie Dickens adventures, currently in over 30 languages. He wrote BBC radio's first truly interactive radio drama, collaborated with Sir Paul McCartney on his first children's book and is a 'regularly irregular' reviewer of children's books for the Guardian. Married with a son, he divides his time between Tunbridge Wells and Grubtown, where he cultivates his impressive beard.

    More Info