Matthew Francis
Out Of Stock
Faber Members pay only £6.39 for this title. Sign up for free during checkout to get your discount.
Proceed to Checkout
ISBN 9780571206667 Format Paperback
Published 19/02/2001 Length 80 pages

About Book

With this second collection Matthew Francis fulfilled all the promise of his first, Blizzard. His teasing out of the bizarre or esoteric leads to a world populated with dragons, devils, butterflies, and a whole ocean full of creatures from whales and cuttlefish to the denizens of deep-sea hydrothermal vents. But strangest of all are the human beings - the ecstasies and indignities of their sexual rites of passage, the routine craziness of their dream lives, the frantic and sometimes terrible adventures of recent and not-so-recent history.
  • About Matthew Francis

    Matthew Francis is the author of five Faber books of poetry, most recently The Mabinogi (2017). He has twice been shortlisted for the Forward Prize, and in 2004 was chosen as one of the Next Generation poets. He has also edited W. S. Graham's New Collected Poems, and published a collection of short stories and two novels, the second of which, The Book of the Needle (Cinnamon Press) came out in 2014. He lives in West Wales and is Professor in Creative Writing at Aberystwyth University.

    More Info