Standard Time

Keith Ridgway
Faber Members pay only £5.59 for this title. Sign up for free during checkout to get your discount.
Proceed to Checkout
ISBN 9780571205295 Format N/A
Published 18/11/2002 Length N/A

About Book

The stories in this collection by Keith Ridgway bring to life a strange, changing Dublin, full of pathos and wry humour; a city haunted by its future as much as by its past. Deftly drawn and full of superbly realised characters, these stories uncover the workings of a variety of relationships - between people, place and time. Ridgway's characters negotiate their way through love, lust, anger, religious obsession, language and absence, and their stories are told with a mastery of narrative and dialogue which make this a refreshing, memorable and often very funny collection.
  • About Keith Ridgway

    Keith Ridgway is from Dublin. He is the author of The Long Falling (Faber, 1998, Houghton Mifflin, 1998), Standard Time (Faber, 2001), Horses (Faber, 2003), The Parts (Faber, 2003, St. Martin's Press, 2004), Animals (Fourth Estate, 2007), and Hawthorn & Child (Granta Books, 2012, New Directions 2013).

    His short fiction has been published in The New Yorker, Granta, Zoetrope, Stinging Fly, and others. He has reviewed fiction for The Irish Times, The Daily Telegraph and The Guardian. He has taught fiction writing courses in Dublin, and ­ since 2013 ­ at the Faber Academy.

    He has been awarded the Prix Femina in France and The Rooney Prize for Irish Literature.

    He lives in south London.

    More Info