Paul Watkins
Faber Members pay only £4.79 for this title. Sign up for free during checkout to get your discount.
Proceed to Checkout
ISBN 9780571177172 Format Paperback
Published 04/03/1996 Length 304 pages

About Book

Alone on a mid-winter night in the forests of North America, Jonah Mackenzie is pinned by a falling tree while cutting down wood for his fire and is forced to hack off his leg with a chainsaw so he can crawl to safety. But at the height of his subsequent war against the wilderness he finds that someone is systematically destroying him, until his own life is hanging by a thread. Mackenzie is forced to confront the excesses of his private war and compromise every ideal by which he has lived and fought.
  • About Paul Watkins

    Paul Watkins was born in 1964. He is the son of Welsh parents and was educated at the Dragon School, at Eton and at Yale. His novels include Night Over Day Over Night, Calm at Sunset, Calm at Dawn, In the Blue Light of African Dreams, The Promise of Night, Archangel, The Story of My Disappearance and The Forger. He has also written about his experiences at public school, in Stand Before Your God. He was shortlisted for the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize in 1992 and 1996, and won the Winifred Holtby Prize for Best Regional Novel of the Year in 1996. He lives in the USA.

    More Info