Edition: Hardback
ISBN: 9780571290635
Published:
No of pages: 448

Other Editions: Paperback

Safe House

£14.99

When Rob Hale wakes up in hospital after a motorcycle crash on the Isle of Man, he is told that Lena, the woman he claims was travelling with him, doesn't exist. The woman he describes bears a striking resemblance to his recently deceased sister, Laura, but has he really only imagined her?
 
Convinced that Lena is real, Rob sets out to find the answers to who she is and who is behind her disappearance. He is aided in this by Rebecca Lewis, a London-based PI, who has come to the island at the behest of his parents to investigate his sister's suicide. But who is Rebecca really and how did she know his sister?
 
Together Rob and Rebecca follow the clues to discover Lena's fate. In doing so they realise that even on an island where most people know each other, everyone hides a secret, and sometimes your best option isn't to hide but to stay and fight.

Watch a Short Interview with Chris Ewan

Chris Ewan's Five Crime-Writing Heroes

Written last Summer for the Faber blog, Chris Ewan tells us his favourite fellow exponents of the crime genre. Find out who they are here.

 

Tags  

Categorised as: Fiction
Sub-categories: Crime & Thrillers
Genres & Themes: Memory; Secrets; Disappearance; Deception; Mystery
Awards & Prizes: Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year - Shortlist 2013

A Dark Redemption
Stav Sherez

From the author of two highly acclaimed thrillers - The Black Monastery and The Devil's Playground - comes the first of a striking new police procedural ...

Broken Dolls
James Carol

Jefferson Winter is no ordinary investigator.

The son of one of America's most renowned serial killers, Winter has spent his life trying to distance ...

Dead Line
Chris Ewan

What do you do if your fiancée goes missing, presumed taken?

If you're Daniel Trent, a highly-trained specialist in hostage negotiation, the answer ...

Gone Again
Doug Johnstone

For fans of No Time for Goodbye, The Vanishing, and Tell No One comes a brilliant, guess-until-the-very-end psychological thriller.

As Mark Douglas photographs a pod ...

Hit and Run
Doug Johnstone

Driving home from a party with his girlfriend and brother, all of them drunk and high on stolen pills, Billy Blackmore accidentally hits someone in ...

Pierced
Thomas Enger

A Convicted Killer: Despite always maintaining his innocence, Tori Pulli, once a powerful player on Oslo's underground crime scene, has been found guilty of ...

Playing Dead
Julia Heaberlin

The Letter
Just after her father's death, Tommie McCloud receives a letter in the post from a stranger. The woman claims that Tommie is ...

Seventy Times Seven
John Gordon Sinclair

Danny McGuire doesn't like his job, but he's good at it. Since his brother's murder eight years earlier he has become a ...

Newsletter Sign-up

Keep in touch with all the latest news and events from Faber Social by signing up for the newsletter. Sign up here.

Free UK P&P

On orders over £25.00 (see conditions)