The Temporary Gentleman

Sebastian Barry

A stunning return from the prize-winning and bestselling author of The Secret Scripture.
Jack McNulty is a 'temporary gentleman', an Irishman whose commission in the British army in the Second ...

Read More

James Hamilton-Paterson's first collection of stories was published in 1986: in a prefatory note the author claims inspiration from the 'putative memory' of a Cynic philosopher whose 'brilliant crabbiness ...

The Bell-Boy was James Hamilton-Paterson's third novel, first published in 1990.

'Somewhere on my tropical travels I encountered a rickety hotel on whose roof an ancient servant lived in ...

Cold Hand in Mine was first published in the UK in 1975 and in the US in 1977. The story ‘Pages from a Young Girl’s Journal’ won the Aickman ...

In an unnamed town Jugnu and his lover Chanda have disappeared. Rumours abound in the close-knit Pakistani community, and then on a snow-covered January morning Chanda's brothers are arrested ...

A tale of love, heroism and resistance set against the stunning backdrop of 1930s Florence, In Love and War weaves fact and fiction to create a thrilling portrait of a ...

Yoruba legend and culture were the source of much of Amos Tutuola's writing and the stories collected here are no exception. They feature characters from folklore, archetypal figures from ...

Drawing on the Yoruba folk tradition, Amos Tutuola's tales combine the resonance of universal myth with reflections on a range of human vagaries.

The leading characters of Pauper, Brawler ...

This is the story of Adebisi, a brave African huntress who sets out for the Jungle of the Pigmies to rescue her four brothers. Along the way, she conquers a ...

After four years of marriage, the brave hunter of the Rocky Town and his beautiful wife, Lola, are still without a child. Equipped with juju, sharpened machete, bow and poisonous ...

My Life in the Bush of Ghosts, Amos Tutuola's second novel, was first published in 1954. It tells the tale of a small boy who wanders into the heart ...

This classic novel tells the phantasmagorical story of an alcoholic man and his search for his dead palm-wine tapster. As he travels through the land of the dead, he encounters ...

India, 1923. Captain Jim Stringer is on secondment to the East Indian Railway, with a roving brief to inspect security arrangements. However, it soon proves to be a more dangerous ...

London, 1760s. A city whose veneer of genteel civility is cracking from the hypocrisy and violence bubbling underneath - and where two women are about to discover what really lies beneath ...

When psychotherapist Helen Brunswick is murdered in her Park Slope office, the entire city suspects her estranged husband - until the District Attorney's Office receives an anonymous letter. The letter ...

Dwayne Smith

A young black attorney is thrown headlong into controversial issues of race and power in this page-turning and provocative debut thriller.

Martin Grey, a smart, talented, young lawyer working out ...

A fantastically dark and timeless graphic debut, for fans of Grimm Tales, The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and the works of Neil Gaiman.

Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys ...

When drugged-up Time Traveller and '80s musical burnout Rock Section and his fellow English hooligans get kidnapped during Italia '90, there are ruinous implications. But now Rock has returned to ...

After Robert Aickman's death in 1981 the manuscript of The Model, a wintry rococo fable set in Czarist Russia, was located among his papers. Aickman had told a friend ...

Marseilles, 1891: as Arthur Rimbaud lies dying in hospital, his mind wanders fitfully - taking him back to Commune-era Paris, and the scandalous life he led with Verlaine. But, above ...

Newsletter Sign-up

Keep in touch with all the latest news and events from Faber Social by signing up for the newsletter. Sign up here.

Free UK P&P

On orders over £25.00 (see conditions)