Edition: Paperback
ISBN: 9780571273027
No of pages: 696


£25.00 £20.00 (Paperback)

No artist’s achievement connects more directly with early experience than that of Berlioz. David Cairns draws on a wealth of family papers to recreate in authentic and intimate detail the provincial milieu of Berlioz’s boyhood, showing how the son of a village doctor was already transforming himself into the composer of the Fantastic Symphony. Berlioz’s desperate attempts to win his father’s approval for his vocation, his struggles to establish himself on the Parisian musical scene, and his passionate pursuit of love are all brought vividly to life in this first volume of David Cairns’s acclaimed biography, winner of the Royal Philharmonic Society’s Music Award and the Yorkshire Post Book of the Year.

‘David Cairns has a wonderful story to tell and he tells it superbly well ... rich in detail and imbued with imaginative insights that stem from love. It is also written with an enviable blend of grace and energy.’ Observer

‘In David Cairns, Berlioz has found a biographer who shares his sense of scale. There is not a dull or redundant page in the whole book. Cairns has lived, breathed and dreamt Berlioz for more than twenty years. He has visited the places Berlioz visited and read the books Berlioz read ... You would no more want to read a slimmed-down version of this book than you would an abridged version of David Copperfield .’ Sunday Telegraph

‘Essential reading, not only for the ardent Berliozian but for anyone with an interest in the history of Romanticism.’ Guardian


Categorised as: Music, Stage & Screen
Sub-categories: Classical Music
Genres & Themes: Faber Finds; Romantics; Composers

David Cairns

Berlioz was one of the towering figures of Romanticism: not only was he a great and revolutionary composer, but also the finest conductor of his ...

Jonathan Keates

In the chaos of the English Civil War and Puritan Commonwealth, churches were defaced and organs broken, but the tradition of fine music survived. When ...

Richard Strauss
Norman Del Mar

Norman Del Mar (1919-1994) was universally recognised as a leading authority on the music of Richard Strauss, and his masterly three-volume study of his life ...

Sibelius Volume I: 1865-1905
Erik Tawaststjerna

Erik Tawaststjerna embarked on his authoritative study of Sibelius in 1960, and it occupied him for over a quarter of a century. His book differs ...

Newsletter Sign-up

Keep in touch with all the latest news and events from Faber Social by signing up for the newsletter. Sign up here.

Free UK P&P

On orders over £25.00 (see conditions)