Edition: Hardback
ISBN: 9780571200849
No of pages: 704

Aaron Copland

The son of Russian immigrants, Aaron Copland (1900-1990) became America's most loved and esteemed composer. Commonly referred to as the American composer - 'the best we've got' in the words of Leonard Bernstein - Copland's music none the less has a large worldwide following of devoted listeners. Perennial favourites include such works as Fanfare for the Common Man , A Lincoln Portrait , the suites from Billy the Kid and Appalachian Spring . But the full richness of his accomplishments and the life that lay behind them have rarely been appreciated, and have never, until now, been thoroughly scrutinized and documented. Howard Pollack's meticulously researched biography explores Copland's life in engrossing detail, and includes informed and valuable discussions of his music. Moreover his interviews with Copland's relatives, colleagues, friends and former lovers have enabled him to engage candidly with the much-revered man.


Categorised as: Music, Stage & Screen
Sub-categories: Classical Music
Genres & Themes: Composers

Newsletter Sign-up

Keep in touch with all the latest news and events from Faber Social by signing up for the newsletter. Sign up here.

Free UK P&P

On orders over £25.00 (see conditions)